Preflight vs Publer: per-account against flat plans

    Publer bills per account and per member; Preflight per block of channels. The bill at 3, 8 and 20 accounts, networks, MCP, approvals and video. October 2026.

    Updated · 3 min read · Prices and limits checked against the vendors' own pages and APIs on that date.

    Publer and Preflight are both small companies selling to people who think $99 a month is absurd, so the comparison is between two cheap tools, not a cheap one and an expensive one. The difference is the shape of the bill: Publer charges per social account and per member, Preflight charges a flat price for a block of channels. The rest follows from there. People weighing more than these two should read Publer alternatives.

    Side by side

    PreflightPubler
    Pricing modelFlat plans by channel count$5 for the first account, $4 each after (Professional); $10 and $7 (Business)
    8 accounts, monthly$13 (Starter)about $33 (Professional) or $59 (Business)
    Extra membersPro: 3 included; Studio: 10$2 (Professional) or $3 (Business) each a month
    20 accounts, 3 users$24 (Pro)about $85 (Professional)
    Free plan3 channels, 20 posts a month3 accounts, 1 user; X excluded
    NetworksYouTube, TikTok, Instagram, Facebook, Threads, LinkedIn (profiles), Pinterest, Bluesky, Mastodon, Telegram, Discord, TumblrFacebook, Instagram, X, LinkedIn (profiles and Pages), Pinterest, YouTube, TikTok, Google Business, Telegram, WordPress, Threads, Bluesky
    Discord / Mastodon / TumblrYesNo
    Pre-publish validationEvery network's real rules, while typingCharacter and media counts; the network's error afterwards
    Video2 GB per file, resumablePer-network limits, single upload
    APIREST, from ProREST, on paid plans
    MCP serverFrom Pro; OAuth or API key; validate_postIn beta
    Client approvalsLinks, no client accountApproval workflow with member roles (Business)
    Recycling, RSS, bulkCSV import; no recycling or RSSRecurring posts, RSS auto-posting, bulk from CSV
    MobileWeb app, installs to the home screenNative iOS and Android apps
    HostingEUNot stated on the pricing page

    Publer's own pricing page did not load for us in October 2026 (it redirects in a loop for a plain fetch), so the per-account figures above come from its help centre and price trackers; they may be a dollar off.

    Where Publer is ahead

    • Below five accounts. Three accounts cost $13 on Publer Professional; Preflight's free plan takes three for nothing, but the next step is $13 for eight. Between four and five accounts Publer is the cheaper tool.
    • X with pictures, WordPress, Google Business, LinkedIn Pages. Preflight posts text to X only and has none of the other three.
    • Content machinery. Recurring posts, RSS feeds, a media library with Canva and VistaCreate, watermarks, signatures, link shortening. Preflight has Canva import and hashtag groups; the rest it does not do.
    • Native apps, which matter if you post from a phone.

    Where Preflight is ahead

    • Flat price. $13 for eight channels and $24 for twenty with three users; at twenty accounts with a team Publer is roughly three and a half times as much. Plans are on the pricing page.
    • It checks first. JPEG-only and 4:5 to 1.91:1 on Instagram, 23 to 60 fps on TikTok, bytes rather than characters on Threads and YouTube, 90-character titles on TikTok photo posts. Refused or warned in the composer, not reported by the network at 2 a.m. The rules are on the limits page.
    • Discord, Mastodon and Tumblr, which Publer lacks; Telegram both have.
    • MCP that is shipped, not in beta, with OAuth so Claude Desktop connects with a URL, and a validate_post tool; see the MCP page.
    • Approvals without accounts. A link, one decision per link, no member fee for the client.
    • Video to 2 GB, uploaded in resumable parts, and YouTube videos published by YouTube at the minute.

    What they share

    Free plans, a calendar, a queue, drafts, first comments, per-network captions, alt text, hashtag groups, CSV import, Telegram, Bluesky, Threads and a public API.

    Who should choose which

    Choose Publer with four or five accounts, for X with media, WordPress, recurring and RSS posts, or a native app.

    Choose Preflight from eight accounts up, with a team, for Discord or Mastodon, for posts validated before they leave, or for an MCP server that is out of beta.

    Figures from publer.com/help, price trackers and Preflight's plan table on 6 October 2026.

    Questions people ask

    Is Publer cheaper than Preflight?
    With three accounts both are free; with four or five Publer is cheaper at about $17 to $21. From eight accounts Preflight's $13 flat plan is cheaper than Publer's roughly $33, and the gap widens with every member.
    Does Publer post to Discord or Mastodon?
    No. It posts to Telegram and WordPress, which Preflight does not do for WordPress. Preflight takes Discord, Mastodon, Telegram and Tumblr.
    Which has a working MCP server?
    Preflight's is live on Pro with OAuth or an API key and 26 tools. Publer's was in beta in October 2026 and reserved for a waiting list.

    Write it once. Let the rules be our problem.

    Preflight checks every post against each network's rules before it leaves, then publishes it to twelve networks. Free plan, no card.